NED History

New England District of the Lutheran Church–Missouri Synod

The New England District is one of the 35 districts of the Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod (LCMS), and encompasses all six New England states: Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island and Connecticut. In addition, two congregations in southwest Connecticut are in the non-geographic SELC District. The New England District includes approximately 70 congregations and missions, subdivided into 7 circuits, as well as 18 preschools and 4 elementary schools. Baptized membership is over 13,000; with New England's total population standing at 14.8M as of 2017.

The New England District was formed in 1972 out of the Atlantic District. District offices are located in Springfield, Massachusetts. Delegates from each congregation meet in convention every three years to elect the district president, vice presidents, circuit visitors, a board of directors, and other officers. The Rev. Robert Beinke was elected to his first term as District President at the 19th Regular Convention, June 9 -11, 2022, succeeding the Rev. Timothy Yeadon, who served from 2012-2022.


  • Rev. Robert J. Reidel, 1972-1976
  • Rev. Oscar E. Milke, 1976 *
  • Rev. Martin P. Dienst, 1976-1985 +
  • Rev. David P. Mulder, 1985-1991 +
  • Rev. Osmar O. Lehenbauer, 1991-1997
  • Rev. James E. Keurulainen, 1997-2012
  • Rev. Dr. Timothy R. Yeadon, 2012-2022
  • Rev. Robert D. Beinke, 2021-Present ++

*Appointed by Synod, + Part-time Presidency, ++ Filling President Yeadon’s term